B.R.A.G. Medallion Honoree

Award-winning Young Adult Books

Fall Out

Courage Always Stands its Ground


Website(s) Author Website 
Genres Young Adult
Buy Now Amazon.com Amazon.co.uk Draft2Digital Audiobook


2020 ERIC HOFFER GRAND PRIZE short list and 1st Runner up e-book fiction! 2020 AMERICAN FICTION AWARDS finalist!

She’s in over her head this time…

She wears a saber, a red sash and the infamous “crass mass of brass and glass,” the United States Military Academy ring. The Army/Navy Game, the 100th Night celebrations, spring leave, and the highest of all cadet days, graduation, await Jan Wishart’s final year at West Point. It should be the best one in her notable cadet experience. But graduation and commissioning as a Second Lieutenant in the U.S. Army may never happen for Jan. Instead, she might be sent to the Consolidated Brig, for female military convicts.

Her friendship with Dimitri Petrov, a diplomat’s son and a rising star in the Soviet Army, may derail everything she’s fought so hard to achieve. When their relationship takes a dark turn, Jan becomes embroiled in something that will test her stamina, her faith and her friendships, as never before. But like honor, duty and leadership, courage always stands its ground.

The Gray Girl Series depicts authentic experiences of the early years when the United States Military Academy first admitted women cadets. Jan Wishart is both heroine and troublemaker. She and her friends sometimes create their own dilemmas but mostly solve the larger issues they face while at West Point in the early 1980’s. Gray Girl is an ERIC HOFFER FIRST HORIZON WINNER and e-book fiction WINNER. Both Gray Girl and Area Bird are KINDLE BOOK AWARD semi-finalists. Area Bird has a 5-star review and is a SILVER AWARD WINNER from Readers’ Favorite Book Award Contest. Witch Heart is a GOLD AWARD WINNER from Literary Titan Book Review and also earned a 5-star review and Honorable Mention from the Readers’ Favorite Book Award Contest. Fall Out made the 2020 ERIC HOFFER GRAND PRIZE short list and First Runner-up for e-book fiction. It’s also a 2020 finalist in the AMERICAN BOOK FEST, military fiction.
Susan I. Spieth is a 1985 graduate of the U.S. Military Academy and the author of the awarded Gray Girl Series. More information can be found at: www.SusanISpieth.com

Popular Books in Young Adult