Alice McVeigh

Award-winning Historical Fiction Author


About Alice McVeigh

Alice McVeigh was born in South Korea, of American diplomatic parents, and lived in Asia until she was 13, when the family returned to Washington D.C.

She then fell in love with the cello. After achieving a B.Mus. with distinction at the internationally acclaimed Jacobs School of Music, she came to London to study with Jacqueline du Pré and William Pleeth. Since then, she has performed with the BBC Symphony Orchestra, the Royal Philharmonic and the Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique throughout Europe, America and Asia.

Her first two contemporary novels – While the Music Lasts and Ghost Music – were published by Orion Publishing/Hachette, and her first play (Beating Time) was put on at the Lewisham Theatre. After spending some years working as a ghost writer, her Last Star Standing was published by Unbound Publishing under her pen name (Spaulding Taylor) in February, 2021. Kirkus-starred, it was tenth on Amazon’s hot new releases in science fiction in March.

On June 30, 2021, the first in her series of Jane Austenesque novels was released, achieving #1 in three Amazon categories. It is also a (very, very) early frontrunner for the Publishers Weekly BookLife Prize, having been awarded 10 stars out of 10.

Alice is married to Professor Simon McVeigh, and lives in London. They have one daughter, who recently graduated from the University of Oxford. Apart from music and fiction, Alice is most addicted to tennis. She is a powerful but notably inaccurate tennis player, with the dubious distinction of being the perpetual ladies’ singles runner-up at her – very – local tennis club.

Visit Author Website

Books by Alice McVeigh